“Maybe” this is the last book in the series?


Morris Gleitzman is the award-winning author of almost 40 books published in over 20 countries. You may have first encountered him as the writer of some very funny novels but he also has a more serious side, as shown in the “Once” series. Gleitzman was inspired to write this series partly by his own family history. His grandfather was a Jew from Krakow in Poland who left before the start of the Holocaust to live in England but many of his other relatives at the time stayed, and were killed by the Nazis.

Once was released in 2005 and  was followed by Then, Now, After and Soon. The sixth book “Maybe” has just been released and the Library has 3 copies to give away!

In it, we follow 14-year-old Felix on another dangerous journey which brings him to Australia to start a new life.

What readers love about this series, is its gritty realism and engaging sense of adventure. We can’t help but feel sympathy for Felix who never loses his moral compass or his optimism.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s